Blog Trial: Day One

Isn’t Courier pretentious? Yes, I agree.

I’ve never deliberately kept a blog before. I have had LiveJournal for several years, and before that I did a lot of entries on Myspace, and even have a few now on Facebook, but I don’t know that I feel very compelled to consider that blogging. The way I see it, blogging is defined as a ritualistic and deliberate routine, occurring over an ongoing span of time, and having at least a loosely applied running theme. Someday, when I have a webcam, I would like to try video blogging. Until then, it stands to reason I should attempt traditional blogging first.

What does one discuss in a blog? As previously stated, I imagine I should choose a theme, or at least set up an expectation. Therefore, let’s call Sunday my blogging day. Every Sunday, some time in the evening or late night, I will update this blog, or either of the other two blogging options I have chosen to trial. I will discuss whatever has been the theme of the week preceding. In this fashion, I (and my readers) will gain the most from my attempt to be a real “blogger”, because once Sunday concludes, I have experienced every part of my life throughout the week before it: I have been to work, I have had days off, I have lost or gained money, I have seen friends, I have made decisions, and I have had my one day a week with my Daniel.

As a show of faith, let’s discuss this last week in review. I wasn’t prepared to do this, because the blog thing didn’t really become a fully formed thought until Thursday night, but let’s just recap for the sake of beginning a routine. 

Monday and Tuesday I worked baseball games at work, which I both love and hate. I love working them because they’re fast-paced, demanding, and they make the time pass quickly. I hate them because people who are paying twelve dollars to park are not pleasant, patient, or friendly. My vehement stance on the abuse of individuals in the customer service industry will quickly become a running theme in this blog, even if I ever manage to escape the industry completely. Tuesday was a day of mark, however, as it was the day my favorite supervisor came back to work again at our location, after a brief trial period at another location and the unfortunate and sudden demise of her fiance. We are all pleased to have her back; she is a truly fantastic supervisor, and an equally fantastic human being. That, and it means I’ll be spending less time with the supervisor who goes out of his way to make sure I know his opinion of me is less than I thought it was.

Wednesday was my day off. I couldn’t tell you what I did, because I don’t remember. I’m pretty sure it had a lot to do with sleeping and the XBox.

Thursday I worked the Heritage garage by myself for the first time. I know that makes no sense now. I’ll explain how my job works some other time. The point is it went smoothly, and I kind of hope I get more hours there. Thursday night, I cycled right from work to the George & Dragon for Trivia Night. I got 28/40. The winning score was 35. I will not die without winning Trivia Night, whether it tortures Stevie or not. You see, Stevie is fast becoming my Trivia Night accomplice, and he considers me to be a Trivia Nazi, which is fine, because it just means we’re gonna win eventually. Stevie is actually the reason I’m trying out this blog business. Apparently he thinks I abuse the absence of a character limit on Facebook, and suggested I start an actual blog instead of updating Facebook every time I have a bodily function or a fleeting thought. Well, here I go, Stevie. Eat shit.

Friday, Jennifer and I ran errands. Walmart is the devil. More on that in the future. Bought a new phone. Activating it next Monday. Aaaaaw, yeaaaah. Also it was Dudes’ Night, which is becoming a ritual for Khamryn, Stevie, Chris, and I, which I like.

Saturday was the best day I’ve had in a long time. I think I’ll post an entirely different entry just to honor it. Daniel proves to me every time I see him that falling in love with him is not a mistake. ❤ Most notably, I got pictures of him in a suit! Eeeee! He was so fucking handsome. I think I spent 70% of the night ogling him, dreamy eyed. No, you know what, I don’t think I want to devote an entire entry to Saturday night. I just remembered I have that issue about divulging too much about the time Daniel and I spend together. I have very odd, selfish feelings when it comes to that information. Maybe that’s an issue I can work through.

Which brings us to tonight. Tonight, I went out with my Facebook-acquaintance-turned-real-life-friend, Stefanie, with whom I share more common ground than I think either of us previously realized. It was nice to just go out and have a casual meal and a long conversation with another person. I don’t spend enough time socializing — truly socializing — and these little steps are encouraging. Between Thursday nights at G&D, Friday nights with the dudes, Saturday nights with Daniel, and now Sunday nights actively blogging? I think I’m finally becoming a real person again.

This has been a mild success. Stay tuned for possible failure, or promising evolution into a sincerely interesting chronicle of seven days at a time in the life of a complete lunatic.

Thanks for stopping by.

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

