14,000 Things to be Happy About: Round 2

To understand the theme of this series of entries, click here, and read the introductory blog.

the groan of ice on the lake when the temperature has flirted with zero all week That sounds to me like the ice is about to give way and someone is about to die. How am I supposed to be happy about that?

babies who never cry No. Babied who never do ANYTHING would be amazing.

orchestras Eh. Depends on what they’re doing. Sometimes, instrumental music just makes me want to murder.

a boat tour to see picturesque little ocher-and-red villages That sounds very nice, actually.

brand-new notebooks YES YES YES YES YES ESPECIALLY DURING BACK TO SCHOOL WHEN THEY’RE ON SALE!

pachyderms I teeter between hating and not hating elephants. Actually, maybe that’s just Indian elephants, because I love the ears on African elephants. Did you know elephants have deliberate graveyards? That they pause to mourn and even press their trunks to the bones, as if in memorial? Elephants are pretty cool.

Staffordshire calico dinnerware I have no idea what that is. Hold on while I Google it. Oooo, it’s pretty!

braiding gimp at camp Again, I require Google. Apparently it’s a kind of knot. I found a video.

picnic-cooler colors Picnic coolers have specific colors that make this person happy…? All of our coolers were red or blue…

a rich spiced chocolate drink With three shots of espresso, please. That being said, the Song Bird Coffee House in downtown Phoenix makes an AMAZING spicy dirty chai latte.

the eastern seaboard I wouldn’t know, but I have always wanted to go. I have friends who live on that side of the country, and they all seem to love it.

declawing the canary Am I gonna have to Google EVERYTHING? And what is this woman doing, hyphenating a billion things that don’t need it and all of a sudden not hyphenating this one? I have no idea what this canary shit is a reference to.

medallions bearnaise It’s pork medallions, and the sauce is the bearnaise part I think. Here it is on a lovely bed of orzo. It looks delicious.

old-time radio shows Most of them are great, actually. We had XM Radio for a bit, and it had this one station that was nothing but old radio shows, and they were hilarious, dramatic, and gripping. However! They were also very sharp and tinny, and they hurt my ears.

red-carpet treatment That depends upon your definition. If this means I get dressed up and a crowd of people scream my name and reach for me while paparazzi compete for my photograph and television hosts with microphones lean in to ask me what my favorite ice cream topping is and whether I can twerk, then yes. >.>

toddlers’ vocabulary I dunno. I don’t really like talking to them until they’re like four.

French playing cards Like, specifically, from France? Is this a thing? OH, you know what, I think maybe our traditionally accepted playing cards are French. I didn’t know that. You learn something new every day!

French toast, butter, and powdered sugar Add syrup, or it’s communist.

open-weave Open weave what?

the cinema Yes. Always yes.

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

