52 Lists Project | List 2: “Favorite Characters From Books, Movies, Etc.”

 

If you’re confused, click here.

List 2 wanted me to talk about my favorite characters from movies, books, and etc. Since I decided 2017 will be a women-centric year for me, I chose to focus only on women. I did have some misgivings at first about including characters who only identify as women, regardless of biology, but in the end I decided it was about the spirit, not the genitals. To that end, I just realized I left out Angel Dumott-Schunard from RENT!!

For some reason I struggled with books, but as a friend pointed out, there is some overlap between visual media and the written word. I think the takeaway from this should be to read more. I also had difficulty deciding a definition for “favorite”. For instance, I rather like a few vicious, evil bitches from movies and books, but are they favorites? Shouldn’t a favorite be someone you like, not someone you hate or fear?

In the end, I had the following, though I feel the list could have grown if I’d focused on it a bit longer.

Lieutenant Olivia Benson (I list her above as Detective, but I remember now she’s gotten a couple promotions!)

Miranda Hobbes, Samantha Jones, Carrie Bradshaw, Charlotte York (in order of absolute love)

Dr. Lisa Cuddy

Michonne

ADA Alexandra Cabot

Dr. Melinda Warner

Nikki Nichols

Tara Thornton

Pamela Swynford de Beaufort

Beth (Newsradio)

Cordelia Chase

Pam Poovey

Carol-Cheryl

Poussey Washington

Rose Dewitt-Beucator

Hermione Granger

Professor Minerva McGonagall

Dr. Ellie Satler

Regina George (see, here is a good example of not being sure what “favorite” means, and how far it reaches — does Regina count, and do I include Gretchen Wieners, Karen Smith, and Cady Heron?)

Ms. Norbury (now that I think about it)

Esmeralda (Disney’s The Hunchback of Notre Dame)

Sydney Prescott

Elle Woods (and Bruiser Woods)

Daenerys Targaryen

Arya Stark (a late addition, I recently started loving her again)

Brienne of Tarth

Winifred Sanderson (and Mary and Sarah)

Buffy (and Willow)

Sansa Stark (as of late, not for a long time at first)

Lyanna Mormont

Janis Ian (and Damien)

Lafayette Reynolds & Angel Dumott Schunard (because they’re too fab to leave out)

Caitlin McCann

Ingrid & Astrid Magnussen

 

Might come back and add more; it should have been such a longer list. In the end, I was a little angry. It shouldn’t be this hard to choose favorite women from fiction. I WONDER WHY THAT IS HMMMM

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

