“No, Thanks” Update: Mirena Withdrawal, Day Three

For those of you who do not know, this is how Mirena works. For those of you who have a general idea, let’s quickly discuss the reality of a phenomenon referred to as Mirena Crash. After up to five years on a constant supply of progesterone, the sudden cut off to the supply chain that comes with IUD removal can be extremely jarring to a woman’s body. It is legitimate withdrawal, and leads to any number of unpleasant side effects in the days, weeks, or even months after you finally make the decision to ditch your Mirena IUD.

To quickly review, some common side effects of Mirena Crash are:

  • Unpredictable or unexplained mood.
  • Lethargy
  • Heavy or otherwise irregular bleeding.
  • Cramping
  • Tender breasts.
  • Decreased sex drive, discomfort during sex.
  • More extreme symptoms including Depression and suicidal thoughts.

I was understandably eager to avoid all of these symptoms, if possible. Before I went into surgery I asked my doctor to prescribe an anti-anxiety to take during recovery. Thus far I have not legitimately needed it, though I have enjoyed having access. As far as I can tell, some sixty hours later, I have yet to experience ANY of these symptoms. What a lot of hype for nothin’! Although… it also makes me nervous. I mean, I took a lot of measures to make sure I’d survive this inevitable hell, and here I sit, relatively alright. I even asked Daniel a few different times, “Are you sure my doctor told you she removed it? Maybe we should check.” He insists they did, and I can’t check yet because bending that much is not awesome.

Maybe I got lucky, who knows. Maybe it’s taking a few days for my body to realize it’s missing something. Either way, I am here to report that I am thus far unaffected by Mirena Crash and cannot attest to its misery at this point.

Cheyenne, out.

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

